≡ Menu
Home > FAQs

Will A DWI In New Jersey Prevent Me From Driving In New York?

Yes, you can count on New Jersey to report a DWI to New York authorities if you’re driving on a New York license.

It may take some time for the information to make its way to the New York DMV, but if you’re convicted of DWI in New Jersey, New York will eventually notify you that your license has been suspended for 90 days.

If this is your first offense, you can request a conditional driver’s license in order to get to and from work, pick up your kids, and other routine elements.

You will be restricted from driving in New Jersey for the length of the suspension there.

If you believe that your New Jersey DWI is leading to inappropriate consequences in New York, be sure to consult with a Queens DWI attorney who can review your case and contact appropriate authorities on your behalf.

Call the attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino today to talk to an experienced Queens DWI attorney for free.

{ 0 comments }

If you are convicted of DWI in Queens and it’s your first offense, you may be eligible for a conditional drivers license, which will allow you to make authorized trips to places like your job, your doctor’s office, your child’s school, the DMV, and your probation officer.

You’ll also be permitted one 3-hour trip each week in order to run errands.

Your eligibility to get a conditional license isn’t based on your willingness to plead guilty.

You can fight a DWI charge, lose, and still have the right to apply for limited driving privileges during the suspension period.

You should consult an experienced DWI lawyer to talk through your options. The attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino can help.

Call us today at 718-599-1111 for a free consultation.

{ 0 comments }
Home > FAQs

What Are The Penalties For DWI In Queens, New York?

DWI is prosecuted aggressively in Queens, and both prosecutors and judges take seriously their role in keeping the roads safe from dangerous drivers.

To that end, conviction of DWI in Queens will lead to a suspension of your driver’s license for at least six months.

You may be eligible for a conditional license that will let you get to work, school, medical appointments, and other approved trips, but any infractions you commit during the suspension period will result in an immediate revocation of the conditional license.

More significantly, a DWI conviction can put you in jail for up to a year, and carries fines of up to $1,000.

You may also be on probation for several years after a DWI conviction.

While it’s not common for a court to assign a long sentence to a first offender, particularly serious instances can result in significant time away from your family, job, and friends.

Various other fees and conditions apply, including mandatory attendance at a Victim Impact Panel. It doesn’t have to be this way though.

There are dozens of defenses against DWI in New York, and an experienced DWI attorney in Queens can help protect you.

Call the attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino today at 718-599-1111 for a free consultation.

{ 0 comments }

You won’t be able to get a New York drivers license if another state has suspended your driving privileges for DUI.

New York, like most states, is a member of the Driver License Compact, which allows states to share information about license suspensions, moving violations, traffic infractions, and other relevant data.

While not all states are members, New York will also check the National Driver Register upon your application for a license.

This is another database where states record information about drivers whose licenses have been suspended or revoked.

If your concern is simply with having government issued ID, you can apply for a Non-Drive Photo ID through the New York Department of Motor Vehicles.

Reinstating a driving license in New York after your prior home state revoked it can be tricky.

The attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino can help get you back in the driver’s seat in New York.

Call us today at 718-599-1111 for a free consultation.

{ 0 comments }

When an altercation in the home is sent to domestic violence prosecutors, you really only have one option: Hire an experienced lawyer and hope for the best.

New York State and Queens both prioritize the prosecution of domestic violence crimes, and prosecutors are often unwilling to reduce a charge without tacking on a lot of conditions that you’ll have to meet.

The process isn’t fair and in many cases doesn’t even make sense, but domestic violence is considered such a public problem that our justice system doesn’t take a lot of chances with it.

The issue in your case is that the altercation was in the home with a person who lives with you, and the law allows that to be prosecuted as domestic violence.

You need legal help from Queens attorneys who know the players in the prosecutors office and on the bench.

Call the attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino today at 718-599-1111 and talk to a lawyer for free.

{ 0 comments }
Home > FAQs

What If I Refuse To Consent To The Breathalyzer Test?

Driving is not a constitutional right, and every state treats the licensed and registered use of an automobile on public roads as a privilege.

When you received your license to drive in New York, or when your vehicle crossed the border to operate on New York roads, you were presumed to give consent to so-called chemical testing, like a breathalyzer, a blood test, or a urine sample.

Drivers can refuse to provide this sample, but rather than impeding a potential DWI case, the results of refusal often cause the driver more pain than they realized it would.

First, refusal will result in an automatic suspension of your license when you are arraigned, pending a DMV hearing on your case.

If you lose in the DMV’s Refusal Hearing, your license will be suspended for one year – even if the DWI charges against you are dropped or you are acquitted.

While it is your right to refuse to provide samples for chemical testing, doing so complicates your case considerably.

You can help yourself by working with attorneys who understand how to fight the criminal component of a DWI charge as well as the administrative process the DMV uses.

The attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino know how to win refusal and DWI cases. Call us today at 718-599-1111 and talk to an experienced Queens defense lawyer for free.

{ 0 comments }
Home > FAQs

Will A DWI Cost Me My Commercial Drivers License?

Yes, conviction for DWI or DWAI in New York will cost you your commercial driving privileges for a period of one year on the first offense, even if the incident happened on your own time, in your own private vehicle.

CDL holders can be charged with DWI if their blood alcohol content is just .04%, and while you are able to apply for a conditional license if you are convicted of DWI, New York will not allow commercial privileges for a year.

Upon a second conviction for DWI, you’ll lose commercial privileges for the rest of your life, as well as experience all the usual penalties that go with DWI.

If you drive for a living, your commercial drivers license is as important to you as a doctor’s license to practice medicine is to them. Fight these charges and keep your career on track.

Call the Queens DWI attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino today at 718-599-1111 for a free consultation.

{ 0 comments }
Home > FAQs

Is Self-Defense A Valid Defense Against Assault Charges?

Self-defense can be a valid defense against assault charges in New York, but there are many factors that have to be weighed in presenting a strong case for it.

A jury will need to believe that the force used was proportional to the threat, and that you did not initiate or continue to antagonize the assault in question.

The laws surrounding the use of self-defense in New York are complex, but where a strong case can be made that you were attacked, or that you attempted to withdraw from an attack and the other party persisted in the attack, grounds for self defense can be established with the help of a criminal defense attorney.

The criminal defense team at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino helps clients who are charged with all levels of assault and all circumstances of assault, including domestic violence.

Call us today at 718-599-1111 for a free consultation.

{ 0 comments }
Home > FAQs

What’s The Penalty For DWAI In New York?

Unlike the criminal charge Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), a person cited for Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) has only committed a traffic infraction and won’t be facing a criminal record for conviction.

But the penalties are real, costly, and for those who don’t take the charges seriously, conviction can be painful.

Penalties for a first DWAI in New York include a suspended license for up to 90 days, fines that can run up to $500, and the potential of 15 days in jail, and ongoing fees and assessments for as long as several years.

So while you won’t have to explain to a future potential employer why there’s a conviction in your criminal history, by the end of the DWAI process, you may feel like the state believes you’re a criminal.

It doesn’t have to be that way. Call the attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino today at 718-599-1111 and talk to a New York DWAI attorney for free.

{ 0 comments }
Home > FAQs

What’s The Difference Between DWI And DWAI In New York?

Like other states, New York law establishes .08% blood alcohol content as the standard rate by which it can allege that a driver was drunk and therefore was operating a vehicle illegally on New York roads.

But many drivers are demonstrably impaired in their ability to operate a car even when their BAC is beneath the limit.

To address this discrepancy, New York developed an offense called Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI).

DWAI is a traffic violation, not a criminal charge, but if your blood alcohol is measured between .05 and .07%, you can be charged with DWAI, and the state will only have to prove that you were too impaired to safely operate the vehicle in order to impose up to 15 days in jail, fines, and a 90 day license suspension.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is the more commonly known version of “drunk driving” charges, and is a criminal infraction carrying a penalty of up to a year in jail, probation, revocation of your driver’s license, and other penalties, plus the burden of having a criminal record for the rest of your life.

If you’ve been charged with any form of drunk driving, it’s important to treat the matter with the seriousness it deserves.

Fighting back early can make your future much easier, and save you large sums of time and money.

Call the attorneys at Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino today at 718-599-1111 for a free consultation with a Queens DWI/DWAI attorney.

{ 0 comments }