There is one harassment charge that is not a criminal offense. Second Degree Harassment in New York is not a felony or misdemeanor charge, just a violation.
Punishment for second degree harassment can include up to 15 days in jail, but you’ll have no criminal record. As a standalone charge, the court will often opt to do nothing at all.
All other harassment charges are criminal offenses, so a First Degree Harassment charge is a B misdemeanor that can result in 90 days in jail.
Aggravated Second Degree Harassment is an A misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of one year. And Aggravated First Degree Harassment is a E felony, carrying the possibility of four years in state prison.
At whatever level you’ve been charged with harassment, you should protect your interest by consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
At Zelenitz, Shapiro & D’Agostino, we protect New Yorkers’ rights. Call us today at 718-599-1111 for a free consultation.